Play Facebook and Instagram Videos Within Your Whatsapp App

WhatsApp’s latest update now allows Instagram and Facebook video links to open in PiP mode.

Following last week’s F8 keynote address on WhatsApp from Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, the latest update for iOS has finally been released.

The chatting app’s update 2.18.51 brings the ability to watch Instagram and Facebook videos in-app. Which means users can now view those videos along with YouTube videos while on their chat window.

Previously, when a link from Instagram or Facebook is clicked, WhatsApp opens the respective app installed on their phone. Once you finish watching, you would have to click on the back button on the upper left corner to reopen the chatting app. Another way to go back would be to double press the home button to access the recently used apps list.

The picture-in-picture mode (PiP) also allows users to continue watching the video while navigating through the chat. The video bubble can be moved within the screen and comes with play/pause, close, and fullscreen buttons.

This PiP mode is described within the change log of the update but is not functional yet as of this writing. The feature however suggests that it would be enabled within the next few weeks.

At the F8 event, Zuckerberg also announced the group video calling feature will come to the app soon. Up to four friends can simultaneously join and see each other in split-screen mode. The app will also get support for third-party stickers created by developers in the near future.

 

WhatsApp Messages May Be Deleted After An Hour

Delete Those Annoying and Humiliating WhatsApp Messages

WhatsApp messages can be deleted an hour after they were sent. The change in settings was done by WhatsApp quietly.

First to notice the change was WABetaInfo. They noticed that the usual time for deleting messages was changed. The old setting for deleting messages was seven minutes. It has been changed to one hour, eight minutes and sixteen seconds.

The change came with iOS update 2.18.31 for iPhone users. No statement or comment was given by WhatsApp yet for the “Delete for Everyone” option. This means more time for users to delete their messages. For group chat, it can mean a whole batch of messages may be deleted. This is even before other group members read it. But although it has been deleted, a note will remain to notify the other parties in the chat that a message has been sent.

WhatsApp does not have a secret conversation like other related apps. The longer period, however, to delete massages somehow helps WhatsApp have a more temporary conversation.

The “Delete for me “ and “Delete for everyone” options were first introduced to WhatsApp last October. Messages then can be deleted seven minutes after it has been sent.

Express UK said that there are other hidden features in WhatsApp aside from the extended deleting time. A recent update now allows users to watch YouTube clips directly from the WhatsApp window. This can also be done even when the user is exchanging messages and even switch conversations. That is, the user does not have to close the YouTube window.

Decorating photos sent within the app with unique stickers, along with their location and current time. Just like in Instagram.

Soon users can also send not only messages but they can also send money without leaving the app. According to WhatsApp they are trying to roll out this feature. Wireless money transfer was successful after a beta trial. This will be launched in India first before the rest of the world.