Biggest Gmail Redesign is now Live

Gmail’s Biggest Redesign Live

Gmail is getting its biggest redesigning. The change that has leaked earlier this month was made official by Google. Email snoozing, nudging, and confidential mode will debut alongside a substantial virtual redesign for Gmail on the web.

Gmail’s global phased rollout will begin today. This means it will not be available to all of Gmail’s 1.4 billon users right away. The first ones who will receive it will be invited to opt in rather than turn it on by themselves.

Jacob Bank, lead product manager for Gmail, says that Google’s redesign was done with an eye on “making people safer and more productive”. This may sound like we will al be treated like Google’s business partners, which is a good thing.

The New Confidential Mode

This allows the sender to set an expiration date for sensitive email or revoke it entirely. The email you send will not go directly to the receiver. You are only sending a link to the content. It can be found on your mailbox and the recipient can only access it via his own Google account. The content could also be accessed if they use another email service https. In both cases, the sender is in charge of how log the other party can access the message, which is basically a time-limited access license.

The Integrated Rights Management (IRM)

This is one of a number of business-centric features making it into the new email for everyone. This allows you to block the forwarding, copying, or printing of particular messages. Deliberate date extraction may not be prevented, but Google hopes to ameliorate the problem of accidental or unwitting sharing of information to the wrong person.

Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)

The 2FA is also being added in under the umbrella of Confidential Mode on a per message basis. Before the recipient can open a confidential message, the sender can request that the recipient authenticate with a password received via text message.

But according to Google, the IRM and the 2FA will not be available straight away, but Google promises that its users may start using the secure mode in the coming weeks.

Email Snoozing And Nudging

Email snoozing is a common feature among third-party email clients. Google has integrated it directly into Gmail. Google goes a step further by adding what it calls nudging of emails. This means it determines the messages that need your attention.

These big overhaul on Gmail will help its 1.4 billion users the enjoy and experience the more secure and convenient features of Gmail.

Published by

Kris Dee

A techy geek who also has a passion for writing. Gadget trends are never out of her reach. View all posts by Kris Dee